

## Office of the Electoral Officer

for the 2024 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections

P.O. Box 244 Kahnawà:ke J0L1B0 Cellular: 514-442-9114 E-mail: angus.montour@kahnawakeelections.com

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## 2024 MCK Elections Official Results

## For immediate release

(Kahnawake – 8, Ohiarihkó:wa/July 2024) The Electoral Officer, Angus L. Montour, is pleased to announce the results of the 2024 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections held on Saturday, 6 Ohiarihkó:wa/July.

Total ballots cast: 1164. Total Ballots Spoiled: 7 Top Portion: 1 Bottom Portion: 4 Both: 2

Grand Chief **Cody Diabo** was elected with **542** votes. Challengers Gina Deer received 343 votes, and Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer received 275 votes.

Those elected as Council Chiefs, and their vote totals, are as follows:

- 1. Ryan Montour (872 votes)
- 2. Tonya Perron (869 votes)
- 3. Melanie Morrison (736 votes)
- Arnold Boyer (714 votes)
- 5. Ross Montour (665 votes)
- 6. Paul Rice (628 votes)
- 7. Stephen A. McComber (548 votes)
- 8. David A. Diabo (483 votes)
- 9. lohahi:io Delisle (480 votes)
- 10. Jeffrey Diabo (455 votes)
- 11. Jeremiah Johnson (406 votes)

The candidates who were unsuccessful are as follows:

- 12. Joshua Mayo (397 votes)
- 13. Niihawennah Lahache McComber (364 votes)
- 14. Marnie Jacobs (342 votes)
- 15. Blue Sky (115 votes)
- 16. Carla J. Diabo (95 votes)
- 17. Myles McComber (82 votes)
- 18. Robert Kennedy Jr (17 votes)

I want to thank all the candidates who had the tenacity to run for Office, all those who worked hard behind the scenes to ensure fair and unbiased elections, and, most of all, to those who came out to vote. Congratulations to those elected.

The new Council Chiefs begin the first day of their three-year term today, Monday, July 8<sup>th</sup>, with a full schedule of orientation activities.

-30-

For further information, please contact: Angus L. Montour, Electoral Officer 2024 Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Elections

Cellular: 514-442-9114