

Tsi Nahò:ten Karihwanákere Nó:nen'k

PRESS RELEASE

Media Inquiries: Joe Delaronde

Political Press Attaché 450- 632-7500 ext 63251 Joe.delaronde@mck.ca

Technical
Contact:
Ratsénhaienhs Carl
Horn

Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory P.O. Box 720 JOL 1B0

Tel: (450) 632-7500 **Fax:** (450) 638-5958

As per the MCK Communications Protocol, all media requests must be arranged through the Public Relations / Communications Unit

MCK announces Agreement with Hydro-Québec

For Immediate Release

(Kahnawake – 16, Kenténha/October 2018) The Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke (MCK) wishes to inform Kahnawa'kehrò:non that a Land Use and Dismantlement Agreement (the 'Agreement') with Hydro-Québec was signed yesterday for the continued use of Line 1 Lands, Line 2A, and the eventual dismantlement of Line 2 as a whole.

In the Agreement, Hydro-Québec agrees to:

- endeavor to dismantle Line 2 by 2022
- release its interest on all lands within the footprint of Line 2B, and extinguish the 'perpetual servitudes' on those lots
- the continued use and operation of Line 1 (consisting of only ten towers along the St. Lawrence Seaway) until 2042, subject to renewal by the parties

Furthermore, as reported in the past, Hydro-Québec has previously agreed to:

- deregister its interests in Line 3
- return Line 4 to reserve status (note: these lands are currently in Canada's *Addition To Reserve* process)

The Agreement was signed by Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton and the President of Hydro-Québec TransÉnergie, Mr. Marc Boucher.

"It's been a long journey," stated Grand Chief Norton. "It'll be gratifying to finally be able once again use these lands. We'd like to thank everyone for their hard work, especially former Council Chief Kenneth McComber, who lead the negotiating team for the past several years to the conclusion of the agreement."

"We are delighted to have reached this Agreement with our Mohawk partners and look forward to pursuing this excellent working relationship in future endeavors," stated Marc Boucher, President of Hydro-Québec TransÉnergie.