Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

New Council takes office


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke (MCK) wishes to congratulate and officially welcome the new Ratits�nhaienhs for the 2021-2024 term of office. With the election of a first-time Grand Chief Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer and five (5) new Ratits�nhaienhs, there is a considerable turnover at the table. Being welcomed today are first-time Ratits�nhaienhs Alan John Rice, Jessica Lazare, Arnold Boyer, Ryan Montour, and Barton Goodleaf.

A tobacco burning ceremony was held at the MCK main office grounds this morning to inaugurate the new term.

A duly-convened Council meeting was held today, with the orientation process being a key Agenda item. Additionally, the new Council signed the Declaration of Office, which is a declaration to, �perform all duties required of Ratits�nhaienhs, bearing in mind that the primary duty is to serve the community, and to be answerable and accountable to Kahnawa�kehr�:non, fellow Ratits�nhaienhs, and the MCK as an institution.�

Additionally, all twelve members signed the Working Conditions Agreement, which deals with matters of confidentiality.

The MCK would like to thank the outgoing Ratitsenahienhs for their service to the community. Clinton Phillips retired, while Gina Deer, Frankie McComber and Rhonda Kirby were not re-elected. There was one seat open due to the passing of former Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton.

Portfolio selections and certain other actions will take place at the conclusion of the formal Orientation process, which begins immediately.

The MCK wishes to thank Electoral Officer Angus L. Montour and his team for their exemplary work under the most trying of circumstances.

Download PDF