Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

MCK congratulates Arnold Lazare for National Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year award


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke wishes to congratulate Arnold Lazare on being named Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year 2021 by the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs.

This prestigious award recognizes excellence in the fire sector and was presented at Fire Rescue Canada 2021.

Arnold has been a member of the Kahnaw�:ke Fire Brigade for 42 years, seventeen of which he served as Fire Chief. He continues to work with the Aboriginal Fire Fighters Association of Canada, the Indigenous Fire Marshall Office, and the National Indigenous Fire Safety Council. Apart from his current role in fire prevention, he continues to sit with Kahnaw�:ke�s Public Safety Division and had been a key member of the Kahnaw�:ke COVID-19 Task Force.

There were sixteen worthy nominees for this year�s award. We share the entire community�s pride in recognition of Arnold�s years of volunteerism, hard work, and success. He has truly made � and continues to make � a hugely positive contribution to our community. Ni�:wen and congratulations!

The Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs was founded in 1909. It is an independent non-profit organization representing approximately 3,500 fire departments across the country. Its mission is to advance safe, effective, and sustainable fire and emergency services.

Download PDF