Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

MCK officially declares State of Emergency - provides further info


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke (MCK) wishes to advise the community that Chief & Council have officially passed a Mohawk Council Resolution formally enacting the Declaration of a State of Emergency at today�s duly-convened emergency Council meeting.

Today�s Resolution was necessitated by the requirement that the Ratits�nhaienhs of the Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke pass a Resolution within three (3) days of a decree (which was made yesterday).

As stated yesterday, the decision to decree a State of Emergency was made based on a recommendation from the Public Safety Commissioner in regards to the situation where an alarming number of confirmed cases of the COVID-19 have arisen in Kahnaw�:ke.

In accordance with the Kahnaw�:ke Emergency Preparedness Law, this initial Resolution will be in effect for thirty (30) days, expiring on January 20, 2022, which can be renewed as required.

Today�s Resolution approves a new, initial, COVID-19 Emergency Preparedness Committee comprised of subject matter experts who can assist with mitigation of the pandemic response during this new state of emergency. This includes the following:

  • Lloyd Phillips, Commissioner of Public Safety
  • Lisa Westaway, Executive Director of Kateri Memorial Hospital Centre
  • Dwayne Zacharie, Chief Peacekeeper
  • David Scott, Fire Chief, Kahnaw�:ke Fire Brigade
  • Derek Montour, Executive Director of Kahnaw�:ke Shakotiia�tak�hnhas Community Services
  • Robyn Montour, Manager of Public Safety
  • Ryan Montour, MCK Public Safety Portfolio Chief
  • Barton Goodleaf, MCK Health Portfolio Chief
  • Robin Delaronde, Executive Director of Kahnaw�:ke Education Center
  • Oneraht�kha Marquis, MCK Executive Director  

Please note that other members may be added to the Committee as needed.

Download PDF