Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

MCK announces appointments


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke (MCK) wishes to update/advise the community regarding appointments to the three entities listed below. The appointments were all formally passed by Consensus via Mohawk Council Executive Directives at the duly convened Council Meeting that took place this past Monday, June 20, 2022.

  1. Appointment of Members to the Kahnaw�:ke Justice Commission: Mr. David A. Diabo has been appointed as a new voting member of the Commission in the role of community representative for a term of three (3) years. Ms. Stephanie Cross has been re-appointed as a voting member of the Commission in her capacity as a member of the Judiciary for a further term of three (3) years. Mr. Davis Montour was earlier appointed as a voting member on an interim basis and will continue until such a time as a second community representative is appointed to take his place. Mr. Dwayne Zacharie, previously a voting member, will continue to participate at meetings of the Commission in an advisory role. The Kahnaw�:ke Justice Commission is mandated to provide oversight to Kahnaw�:ke�s Justice Services and to ensure that the integrity of the Kahnaw�:ke Justice System is defended and protected.
  1. Appointment of Member to Peacekeeper Ethics Committee: The Council of Chiefs officially rescinded the appointment of Ms. Sharon (Suzie) Diabo as a member of the Peacekeeper Ethics Committee, as she had resigned her position in December 2021. Mr. Mark Standup has been appointed for a term of four years as her replacement. In accordance with the Kahnaw�:ke Peacekeeper Law, the Ethics Committee considers complaints made by any person against one or more members of the Peacekeepers and resolves such complaints using principles and processes set out in the Law.
  1. Mohawk Council Executive Directive: Appointment of Member to Cannabis Control Board: Ms. Tara Jacobs has been re-appointed as a Member of the Kahnaw�:ke Cannabis Control Board for an additional term of three (3) years. Pursuant to the Kahnaw�:ke Cannabis Control Law, the Board was established to regulate the local cannabis industry, as well as draft all requisite regulations.

Download PDF