Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

MCK to meet with New Zealand Members of Parliament


The Mohawk Council of Kahnaw�:ke wishes to inform the community that the Council of Chiefs will meet with a delegation of leaders from New Zealand this afternoon.

The delegation is hoping to gain a better understanding of some of the issues and priorities the Mohawks of Kahnaw�:ke are addressing, including reconciliation, but also economic development (agriculture, forestry), Indigenous rights (United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples), language, and social issues such as housing, health, education, and women & youth. 

The delegation consists of five Members of Parliament: Co-Leader of the (Indigenous) Māori party Rawiri Waititi; Shanan Halbert and Rachel Boyack Mayer from the Labour Party; and Simon Watts and Nicola Grigg from the National Party. They will be accompanied by New Zealand Parliament representative Winton Holmes, and New Zealand High Commission Senior Policy Adviser Iain Wood.

There is a representative who will sing a song/opening prayer in the Māori culture. 

Today�s meeting is a follow up to one held earlier this year between High Commissioner Martin Harvey and Oh�n:ton I:iente ne Ratits�nhaienhs (Grand Chief) Kahsennenhawe Sky-Deer and several other Ratits�nhaienhs. 

Download PDF