Site Features

Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:keTsi nahò:ten kahiatónnion a'arákonEnsaié:nawaseOnhkharéhson Aionkhihsnoé:nen
Tsi Ietsenhaientáhkhwa
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
KTV on Facebook MCK on Twitter Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke
Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke

Kahnawa’kehró:non Ratitsénhaiens

Council of Chiefs

The Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke is the current governing body for the Kahnawá:ke Mohawk Territory.* The Council of Chiefs consists of twelve (12) representatives elected from and by the people. Elections were held bi-annually for many years; however, in 2006 terms were increased to three years.

The Office of the Council of Chiefs (OCC) provides support and advisory services for the Chiefs. The OCC includes technicians, negotiators, communications officers, elder/ advisors and administrative support.

* There is a significant number of Kahnawa’kehró:non who do not consider the Mohawk Council of Kahnawá:ke to be their governing body. Chief & Council acknowledges this and continues to work towards the creation of a Traditional Government that would represent all Kahnawa’kehró:non. This desire was reaffirmed in 1999 with the MCK’s Declaration to Return to Traditional Government.

Please note that Chief & Council, as a rule, continue to operate on the concept that their decisions must respect the will of the community in general, not just those who are considered “the voting public.”

Can't See the File?
Download Adobe Reader